web analytics
Jack Ketchum

Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year, The Horror Writers Association (HWA) awards The Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement.

From their website:

THE BRAM STOKER AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT is presented periodically to an individual whose work has substantially influenced the horror genre. While this award is often presented to a writer, it may also be given for influential accomplishments in other creative fields.

Previous winners have included Clive Barker, F. Paul Wilson, Stephen King, Peter Straub, John Carpenter, Christopher Lee, Harlan Ellison, Robert Bloch, Richard Matheson, Joyce Carol Oates, and more.

This year’s awards are being presented to Tanith Lee, and – you guessed it – Jack.

Per the committee:

Jack Ketchum has been one of the premiere authors in the horror field for many years.  His novel, The Girl Next Door, is considered a classic, but he’s written many other equally deeply moving works.  Ketchum has won the Bram Stoker Award four times and been nominated an additional three times, showing the broad appeal to his audience.  He was named the Grandmaster at the 2011 World Horror Convention.

The award will be presented at World Horror Con 2015, in Atlanta, GA.