Peaceable Kingdom

Doom in a plain carboard box. A snake in the grass. A captive with a rose tattoo. The innocent-looking letter in your mailbox that can kill you or set you free. The rifle hidden away in a young boy’s closet. Closing time in a Manhattan bar just days after 9/11. Punishment that actually suits the crime for a change. A parrot in a strip-joint. Sleazy bimbos and parted lovers. A UFO. A Western. A vampire for godsakes. Zombies. Fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, twins. Cats and dogs and a dancing lynx.


Welcome to the dark — and diverse — world of Jack Ketchum. Peaceable Kingdom is the ultimate Jack Ketchum short story collection, gathering together the complete contents of The Exit at Toledo Blade Boulevard (minus Winter Child and Henry Miller and the Push) plus 20 additional classics.



  • The Rifle
  • The Box
  • Mail Order
  • Luck
  • The Haunt
  • Megan’s Law
  • If Memory Serves
  • Father and Son
  • The Business
  • Mother and Daughter
  • When the Penny Drops
  • Rabid Squirrels in Love
  • Sundays
  • Twins
  • Amid the Walking Wounded
  • The Great San Diego Sleazy Bimbo Massacre
  • The Holding Cell
  • The Work
  • The Best
  • Redemption
  • The Exit at Toledo Boulevard
  • Chain Letter
  • Forever
  • Gone
  • Closing Time
  • The Rose
  • The Turning
  • To Suit the Crime
  • Lines: or Like Franco, Elvis Is Still Dead
  • The Visitor
  • Snakes
  • Firedance
Categories: ,

Subterranean Press

Limited Edition

26 signed, lettered copies
600 signed, numbered copies